For the Love of Coffee, Cigars, Wine, & Great Food!

Sensual Mystery: Ethiopia Limu from BaristaOnDutY

This coffee is like Heaven in a cup…No, LITERALLY. It’s loaded with so many flavors – honey, butternut, jasmine, toasted macadamia. It’s a very floral and sweet coffee, but has such an unexpected collaboration of flavors and intriguing twists. This coffee has been around for quite some time and has always been raved about. I was so happy when I found out that BaristaOnDutY had sent some to me.

You may question what’s going on in the cup. Is it my taste buds or the coffee?? It’s so sweet and floral but very rustic and woodsy. The dry aroma made me chuckle a bit to myself – glad to smell something so pleasing: sweetened nuts, honey, and peach. The wet aroma released soft scents of banana, honey, jasmine and honeysuckle – an aroma that definitely brought me back to my childhood of picking honeysuckles and experiencing soft, elegant flavors against my tongue.

The taste of this coffee was like a playground experience: butternut, apricot, an explosion of honey, a short, dry finish, winey accents. It played with my emotions in good way. Further along in the cup, the soft jasmine aroma from before meets my tongue and excites me once again. About halfway through – SMACK! Toasted macadamia nut – well where the heck did this come from?? But I like it! A little later, more floral tastes arrive and lasts throughout the duration of the cup.

This was such a pleasurable experience – it’s easy to be taken by surprise with this coffee; however, don’t let it confuse you. Let the element of surprise share an all too intriguing melody with you. Experience this coffee any day at any time, and your mouth – and heart will smile.

Suggested Preparation: French Press, Coarse Grind

Get to know your BODY: @BaristaOnDutYBaristaOnDutY.com

8 responses

  1. Tariku

    Hi Kaye! How’ve you been? Happy Ethiopian New 2003 year! “Butternut!”, it sounds tasty — I recently had coffee with butter(cow) — a rather amazing experience. As usual, nice presentation!

    October 5, 2010 at 10:35 PM

  2. confessionsofacoffeejunkie

    Mmmm!Butter(cow)! That definitely sounds interesting! Where was the coffee from? Thanks for the coffee shout outs 😛

    October 5, 2010 at 10:51 PM

  3. Tariku

    Yes, it’s! It’s typical coffee preparation of the “Gurage” ethnic group of Ethiopia. They boil the coffee in their typical “Gurage” clay vacuum coffee pot, and drop later a piece of butter into a cup.

    http://www.madeinethiopia.net/ethiocoffee/coffee_kit.htm

    October 6, 2010 at 12:34 AM

  4. Did Some1 Say Butter!? Had To Dig These Up I Been Butter For A Long Time, You Know I Keep The Salt Shaker Kaye! Thanks Again Wonderful Cup OF Education!
    http://twitpic.com/1exs0s http://twitpic.com/1exnli

    October 6, 2010 at 4:59 PM

    • confessionsofacoffeejunkie

      I’m definitely trying this…interesting! 😮

      October 6, 2010 at 6:28 PM

  5. Fresh and Fly I like those descriptors! 🙂

    I can totally relate to the constant sniffing. lol.

    This coffee sounds great.

    c(_) cheers!

    Jason Coffee
    http://coffeecupnews.org

    October 8, 2010 at 11:06 AM

    • confessionsofacoffeejunkie

      Oh Jason! It was amazing! (And still is…I’ve been hoarding it lol). But if you can, definitely visit BaristaOnDutY.com Thanks for the comment! c(_) cheers!

      October 9, 2010 at 10:24 PM

  6. Pingback: Fresh Brews: Sensual Mystery, K-Cup Criticism And More – Related Coffee Articles | Chicory Coffee

Leave a Reply

