For the Love of Coffee, Cigars, Wine, & Great Food!

Raging Brews: Vietnamese Caphe by BODY (BaristaOnDutY)

The Vietnamese Caphe is such an incredible coffee, it’s ridiculous. Its atypical shape, aroma, and taste qualities made me keep by nose deep into the beans for the majority of the tasting. Provided by BaristaOnDutY.com (@BaristaOnDutY), this coffee’s dry whole bean aroma was a collaboration of several scents: onions, spice, tobacco, leather, smoked wood chips, grassy. Its ground dry aroma is where we experienced more of the sweeter scents like caramel and soft floral accents. The wet aroma (immersing in water) – Oh My God – intense tobacco & molasses was very apparent. We also got hints of sweet raisin, plum and more of that caramel – but also a smoked wood.

So we finally get to taste: winey, licorice, tobacco & cigar accents, would be great for espresso, a very clean finish. About halfway through, all of the dry and wet aromas along with the upfront tastes blend together very well and are quite pleasurable!

The Beans: The beans were actually quite small in comparison to the average bean. Interestingly enough, the texture of the beans were both smooth and rigid and had a color variation of both dark and light.  These unique traits give it character and an unconventional beauty.

Pairs Well With: A light cigar, A rich chocolate dessert

What to look for soon: best preparation methods (espresso, drip, French Press, phin filter)

Get to know your BODY (@BaristaOnDutY): www.BaristaOnDutY.com / Twitter.com/BaristaOnDutY

7 responses

  1. Very Informative Video, Not Only Was It A Surprise. It Also Displays Your Initiative To Step Up To A Challenge. To My Knowledge This Is The 1st Video On Authentic Single Origin Vietnamese Caphe. I Am Proud Of This Info, As Is The Farmer/ Producer. I Look Forward To You Sharing More Insight Of The Bean, With Pairings As Well As Brewing Methods. Nicely Put Together. Thanks Again For Your Input!

    October 4, 2010 at 12:03 AM

    • confessionsofacoffeejunkie

      Thanks! I am so honored to be able to do this review – glad you were pleased with it! And thanks for all your expertise!

      October 6, 2010 at 12:55 AM

      • Yes Definitely Please With Them, No Point System Just Your Honest Thoughts, N Feelings About What You Felt, And Your Recommends. Yes Coffee Is Subjective, But You Allow For The Viewer To Make Up Their Mind.Don’t Get Me Wrong, Stale Coffee Is BAD Coffee, But From A Profile Perspective, And Giving Recommends Of Pairings, I See This As The Format. Gonna Get You More Coffee Toys!! Had I Said Everything You Said About The Vietnamese Coffee Of Course No One Would Have Taken My Words!! True Story! Again Great Job!!

        October 6, 2010 at 4:19 PM

  2. I think I’m going to need you to do more videos. Really enjoyed comparing my notes to your review.

    October 5, 2010 at 8:45 PM

    • confessionsofacoffeejunkie

      Hey Mike! I’m glad you enjoyed it :). I am actually having a BALL doing these! Hopefully I was pretty close to your notes too – Enjoy!

      October 5, 2010 at 11:02 PM

    • HaHa I’m Gonna Need Her To Do More Videos As Well! I Was Wondering Why I Had Green Coffee Waiting For A Home. Heads Up Next Month Is Birthday Month! BIG Coffee!!

      October 6, 2010 at 4:23 PM

  3. Pingback: Coffee Chicken Wings (WAAANGS) :D « Jitterz Café's Confessions of A CoffeeJunkie

Leave a comment